Style

The Best of Innisfree Orchid Collection: Orchid Enriched Cream Review!

Happy Friday (or Saturday depending on time zone) everyone!!

This is a continuation of my “The Best of Innisfree Orchid Collection” review (see Part I here). Now, remember my previous post where I said I wanted to hold off on reviewing the Orchid Enriched Cream since I had barely begun to use it?? Well, it’s been 2 months since I started using it, and I feel that it’s a good time to review it now since I’m more than half-way done with the product!

As a reminder, this cream was part of a special set from Innisfree, a South Korean Makeup brand:
IMG_20170409_120012

The Best of Innisfree Orchid Collection ($29 USD)

It was selling for $29 USD on their site, Innisfree World, and I was immediately captivated by it since I’ve already in love some of their other products that was included in this set as well. (for a review of those products, please see the first part of this review!)

The focus for today’s review, however, is the Orchid Enriched Cream (shown on the left on the picture above). The Orchid Enriched cream is advertised to be “formulated with Jeju orchid extract that penetrates deep to improve skin within” and comes in a 500 mL container.

IMG_20170409_120056.jpg

Innisfree Orchid Enriched Cream (500 mL)

Scent: As you can see, it’s a light-pink colored cream with a fragrant scent. I understand that some people prefer scent-less products, and if you do, this product may not be for you. While the fragrance is not overwhelming, you can definitely smell it as you apply it onto your face. I personally don’t mind products with a scent, and this one has a fresh and floral smell! 🙂

Texture: The texture of this cream, as the name will have it, is on the thicker side. It is hard to spread than some of the gel-based products I’ve used such as Clinque’s Moisture Surge or Nature Republic’s Super Aqua Max Watery Cream. For those who like a thin, easy application that feels barely there, this cream may feel a bit on the thicker side. However, for those who suffer from dry skin like I do that absorbs gel-based products very easily, this cream may do just the trick for you in terms of providing good protective, hydrating layer for an entire day.

Skin-type: Since it is a cream rather than a gel, my personal recommendation for this cream would be for those who have dry or dry-normal combination skin. It is not overly thick, and it is hydrating enough to provide the boost you need to get through the day, particularly for those who work in the office all day. I’ve been working 9-10 hour day and with commute I’m essentially spend 12-13 hours away from home. Some of the previous face creams I had just didn’t provide enough hydration for my skin to last the entire day without producing massive amounts of face oil or having my skin start hurting from the arid air in the office. On that note, for those with normal-oily combination or oily skin, this cream may be too thick for your skin, but at the end of the day, it is a personal preference on the texture and what’s most suitable for your skin type.

Verdict: I absolutely adore this cream. It was the perfect amount of hydration and protection for my skin since I live in Los Angeles, known for its arid weather. Particularly, I had purchased this for the Spring season, and with the fluctuation between hot and cold, this cream gave me just what I needed to calm my skin down through the transition. On the flip side, as we enter into the Summer season, I fear that this cream may be a bit too creamy for the hot humid weathers, which is why I’m grateful I’m close to being done using it! It’s perfect for spring and fall seasons (the transitional seasons) but I would be a bit more hesitant relying on it for Winter or Summer seasons where the weather is prone to be more extreme.

There you have it folks! I hope this mini review was useful for you, and stay tuned for my next review as I plan to purchase a new face cream after I finish this one for the hot, sweaty summer! Thanks for reading!

~::The Whimsy Me::~

Leave a Reply

