Entertainment

Review of “Your Name” (Kimi no Na wa)

Hello lovely people!

This post is quite late because..well life does get in the way sometime! Last month, I went with my boyfriend to go watch the Japanese animated film “Your Name” ( Original title: Kimi no Na wa <君の名は>).

Many of my friends in Asia had the chance to watch it much earlier than I did, and they all highly recommended it. That was why when the movie was released in North America, I just had to go! Granted, the movie was unfortunately English-dubbed, but I guess it allowed me to enjoy the visuals more without having to focus on the subtitles.

For those who have never watched the film, here’s my quick synopsis: “Your Name” is about a girl living in the rural mountain town and a boy living in the populous Tokyo. The girl, named Mitsuha, is tired of her monotonous life and made a wish to be “reborn as a handsome Tokyo boy.” Next thing you know, she switched bodies with the boy named Taki! The two began to realize what was happening and worked together to navigate through their body-switches. However, as time went on, they both began to develop a strong bond. Just as they were about to come to terms with their feelings and their current lives…fate has its way of twisting and turning around Taki and Mitsuha.

Review:  “You Name” lived up to its name (ha-hah pun intended) and more! I don’t want to spoil the movie for anyone who hasn’t watched it yet. But really, if you haven’t, you really should go watch it! It was so amazingly witty and funny with some borderline slightly inappropriate jokes but the next moment, you’ll be plunged into a sudden plot twist that makes you grip your seats tight, only to be lurched again to humorous moments.  I didn’t know whether to laugh or to cry throughout the entire movie.

What really made me fall in love with the movie, however, was the visuals. It was absolutely stunning. The background and scenery were created so well that it felt like I was truly there. I particularly fell in love with any scenes where there was natural scenery, such as the skies, comets, and mountains/forests just entranced me. I’m not familiar with the technical terms, but all I can say is, the movie is worth watching for the visuals alone!

Overall, the movie is an A+++++. I’m looking to purchase the DVD simply just so I can rewatch at my leisure. So, for those who haven’t watched it…watch the trailer below, and then go watch the movie! 🙂

Again, thanks for reading and I promise I’ll be better at posting!

~::The Whimsy Me::~

Leave a Reply

